Summertime Petite Blueberry Cream Pies

When I think of Summer I think of fresh fruit, ice cream, swimming to cool off, and yummy pie.  Today I was at the North Carolina State Farmer’s Market in Raleigh and low and behold it’s already getting into blueberry season!  Blueberries are one of my favorite fruits and it made me miss my blueberry bushes my husband and I planted at our house in Virginia before we moved.

Blueberries aren’t just tasty, but they are good for you too!!  One of my favorite ways to eat them is in my grandmother’s (aka “DaGa”) fruit cream pie.  Although her original recipe is for Raspberry Cream Pie, I adapted it for blueberries and made it into a healthier, bite-size version that can satisfy your sweet tooth!  You can let your cooking imagination run wild – it can be made with chopped bananas, peaches, strawberries, or your other favorite fruits.  Here’s the recipe for this tasty delight!

For the Petite Blueberry Cream Pies you will need:

Print the Petite Blueberry Cream Pies Recipe

  • 1 can (1 1/3 cups) Eagle Brand fat-free sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 cups washed fresh blueberries
  • 4 packages of phyllo cups (found in the frozen food section)
  • 1 tub of whipped cream (I used fat-free Cool Whip)
Here’s how you make it:

First, combine the fat-free sweetened condensed milk and lemon juice.

Stir until thickened, might be 10 strokes or so…

Fold the blueberries into the condensed milk and lemon juice mixture…

Then take your phyllo cups out of the box.  I found that it was easiest to leave them in the tray.  Don’t worry about baking!

Spoon the yummy concoction into the phyllo cups. I was only able to get about 3-4 blueberries in because they were HUGE! Don’t fill them up too much because you’ve gotta leave room for the….

Whipped cream!! Just a dollop will do, or you can use the spray kind, whatever your heart desires!

Leave the cute little pies in the tray and freeze for about 2-3 hours.  You can freeze them overnight or for days.

At Last! Transfer the pies to your favorite platter 10-15 minutes before serving.  Then enjoy your friends’ compliments on how much of an amazing cook you are!

Print the Petite Blueberry Cream Pies Recipe

4 responses

  1. Megan, these look DELICIOUS! I love the blog name, and I’ll be sure to follow and share with my friends. I would also L-O-V-E if you did a guest post on pubertytaketwo about some of your favorite recipes, DIY projects, etc. from your middle school days. xoxo!

Leave a Reply

