Here comes the bride…

As many of you may know I got engaged on December 20, 2011

The cute raccoon ornament LJ put my engagement ring on

After the initial shock and excitement, we finally set our big day for October 13, 2012. Once I started telling friends and family our wedding date, many gasped, saying “October of this year?”. Being the second child, with my laid-back attitude, I shrugged off the comments thinking to myself how much time do you REALLY need to plan a wedding??

Once wedding planning got into full swing I realized I may have been a little naive on the difficulty of planning a wedding because:

  1. I come from a family of women who love planning and hosting parties (I began feeling the pressure to plan a great event…)
  2. EVERYTHING in the wedding-world is completely over priced from invitations down to the wedding favors

After spending hours on Pinterest and discussing ideas with my mom and sister I kept hearing over and over “We can make that” or “Lets figure out how to do that ourselves”. It reminded me of when growing up, I would point out jewelry or scarves I liked to my mom. Her typical response on many occasions was, “We can make that…when I was your age I made all of my own clothes”. While she said that I’m sure I was secretly rolling my eyes thinking, why can’t we just buy it!

With that said, I am now thankful for my mom’s creativity as I began thinking of DIY projects for the wedding. Not only does it save money, but it adds a unique, personal touch to show off to your guests. My first DIY wedding project came from an idea I found on Pinterest for table numbers. I thought it would be a cute way to incorporate some of my colors and themes on the tables.

What you’ll need:

  1. 5×7 wooden frames (I got mine from Target for $2)
  2. Acrylic Paint from your local craft store (1 color for the frames, 1 color for the number)
  3. 2 foam paint brushes
  4. 4″ wooden numbers (I found mine at Michael’s & AC Moore)
  5. Scrap-booking or specialty paper (mine came from Paper Source)

First find a flat area with a lot of space to work. Take all of the backs off the frames and remove the glass. Lay the frames over news paper and start painting. I chose white for my frames. The foam brushes worked best for me because I was going for a “shabby chic” look and the foam brushes give a “sponge” texture. I ended up doing two coats of paint. I wanted a moderate amount of brown to show through for the look I was going for, but the amount of coats you use it up to you!

Once you are finished painting the frames, begin painting the wooden numbers. I painted mine gold to coordinate with the wave paper I chose. Do 2-3 coats, or until number are completely painted. While you are waiting for the frames and numbers to dry, trace the outline of the glass from the frame on your paper. Once the frames are finished drying, place the paper in the frame, and place back on the frame (without the glass).

Lastly, heat up the hot glue gun and an apply the wooden numbers to the center of your frames. There you have a super easy and cute DIY wedding project. Enjoy!!

5 responses

Leave a Reply

