Happy 4th of July from Home Grown Hand-Me-Down!

Happy 4th of July!

Me and my yellow lab Airlie

The 4th of July brings back so many memories of my childhood.  I think about spending all day at the pool, cooking out with family and friends and then watching fireworks that were pretty good for our small town.  I think this holiday truly helps me appreciate growing up in a small town – we definitely went all out!  There’s nothing more American, in my opinion, than homemade peach ice cream.  I remember making it with my grandmother DaGa and Aunt Susan in an old-fashioned ice cream maker.  Luckily we had an abundance of peaches growing up because there was a peach orchard near Aunt Susan’s house.

This past weekend I went down to visit my parents in Wilmington, North Carolina and my mom and I decided we had an itch for some peach ice cream.  She had just picked up a huge basket of juicy white peaches from the NC State Farmer’s Market and I love any excuse to use my ice cream maker attachment for my Kitchen Aid mixer!  While I do love true old-fashioned ice cream, I attempted to make it slightly healthier (especially since it’s bathing suit season!).

To make Perfect Peach Ice Cream you’ll need:

Print Perfect Peach Ice Cream Recipe

  • about 2 pounds fresh peaches (I recommend very ripe peaches for more flavor)
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup fat-free half and half
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 3 tsp vanilla
  • an ice cream maker

First, peel your peaches and cut them into chunks,taking the pit out (obviously).  Once you have about 2 cups of peaches…

Use use an immersion blender, regular blender, or food processor to chop up the peaches a bit more.  I like a bit of chunk so I did not puree it.

Next, add the 1/2 cup heavy cream, 1 cup half and half, and 1 cup milk to the peaches and mix.

Then for some sweetness add in the 1/2 cup agave nectar.  If you do not have agave nectar you can do 1 cup sugar or even 1/2 cup Truvia if you’re trying to be healthy.

Add in the 3 teaspoons of vanilla and stir the mixture.  Then let ice cream mixture sit in the refrigerator for about 1 hour to chill.

Finally, add the mixture to your ice cream maker.  The amount of time you let it run will depend on the ice cream maker you have.  I did about 20 minutes.  It will still be somewhat creamy, so put it into a plastic container and chill for about 1 more hour in the freezer.  Serve and enjoy!

Print Perfect Peach Ice Cream Recipe

One response

Leave a Reply

