Chilled Gazpacho

So I might have gone a little overboard again at the farmer’s market, but everything just looked so darn good!  I do have to say that I really do enjoy supporting the local farmers and they are all so nice, so I end up buying one type of vegetable from each… it’s hard to pick just one stand!  I am proud of myself because I got all of this for only 32$.  Most of it is pesticide free and organic… you can’t beat that at Whole Foods or Harris Teeter!

So one of my absolute FAVORITE summer dishes is gazpacho!  I love how cool and fresh it is. It’s also very healthy and perfect for a chill summer lunch.  This is just another delicious tomato recipe that I love to make!  I remember I had my first bowl of gazpacho in Madrid, Spain while visiting with my family.  Since then it has been a favorite of ours to make to cool off during the heat of the summer.  I don’t really think this Spanish dish was well-known in the US when my great-grandmother and grandmothers were alive, but boy if it was they would have loved it!!  Here’s the recipe for this cool concoction:

Chilled Gazpacho

Print Chilled Gazpacho Recipe

For this recipe you will need:

  • 5 Roma tomatoes
  • 3 cups tomato juice (I used organic w/ no salt added from Whole Foods)
  • 1 medium red onion
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 2 medium cucumbers
  • 2 Tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • a food processor, blender, or hand-held immersion blender

To start, make sure all of your vegetables have been washed.  Start coarsely chopping the tomatoes.

Then add them to your food processor or blender.

Peel the cucumbers…

and coarsely chop 1 1/2 of them. Dice the other 1/2 cucumber and set aside (this will be used as a topping).

Then peel and coarsely chop the red onion…

and add it into the food processor along with peeled and coarsely chopped garlic cloves

Then measure 1 1/2 cups of the tomato juice… I went a little bit over, ooops!

Add the tomato juice to the food processor.

Pulse the food processor until the vegetables are chopped. Don’t forget to put the cover on and DO NOT OVERPROCESS!!!

You want it to be a little chunky, not completely pureed like vegetable juice.

Transfer the mixture to a large bowl and add the remaining 1 1/2 cups of tomato juice.  Stir to incorporate. Add 3 Tablespoons of red wine vinegar.  If you only have white wine vinegar or cider vinegar, by all means throw that in instead!

Add a little salt to taste…

and some black pepper and mix.

You can eat the gazpacho right away (like I did, I just couldn’t help myself) or you can let it chill for an hour.  Serve chilled in a bowl topped with the remaining cucumber diced and a little leftover red onion.  I also added fresh cilantro which made it even more amazing.  You can also do as the Spaniards do by topping with fresh croutons, finely chopped black olives, or carrots.  Whatever your heart (or stomach) desires!  Store in the refrigerator or put in ziplock bags and freeze.  Remember, the longer you let it sit, the more time the delicious flavors have to incorporate.

Print Chilled Gazpacho Recipe

3 responses

  1. Megan, this looks delicious. Have you heard about the watermelon gazpacho trend? There may be some good recipes out there worth trying. I am definitely headed to the farmer’s market this weekend because of your awesome photos!

Leave a Reply

