Corn Puddin’

Last weekend my friend Amanda and I drove up north to Philadelphia, PA, to visit our friend Mallory.  Both Mallory and Amanda are two of my bridesmaids and good friends from graduate school.  It was my first time in Philly and I loved it!  Our trip was filled with American history, delicious food, and fun!  Our last stop before leaving the city on Sunday was Mallory’s local farmer’s market.  I was excited to see what Philly had to offer (I can never pass up the opportunity to check out a farmer’s market).  It certainly did impress with gorgeous displays of fresh fruits and vegetables. I ended up going a little overboard with my purchases…but as you can see below…..everything looked so delicious!

I bought tomatoes, cucumbers, peaches, lettuce, onions, and corn, which got me excited about making corn pudding.  Corn pudding is a dish that both my maternal (Daga) and paternal (GG) grandmothers would make.  It is a necessary side-dish at Thanksgiving, cookouts and  family get-together’s.

Although both of my grandmothers made corn pudding, a recipe from my paternal grandmother Frances Floyd (aka GG) steals the cake.   After growing up on her delicious meals, I was shocked to find out  during a recent visit with GG’s nephew (Aldwin Hight), that during my grandparents engagement, GG was often worried she would not learn to be a good enough cook for her young groom (my grandfather).   I’d say my grandfather Pop got lucky….cooking should have been the least of her worries!

For Corn Pudding you’ll need:

Print Corn Puddin’ Recipe

4 ears fresh sweet corn

3 heaping tablespoons of sugar

1 tablespoon flour

2 eggs (well beaten)

1 1/2 cups milk (skim)

4 tablespoons melted butter

First, start by shucking all of your corn and rinsing.  Fill a large pot (large enough to fit 4 ears of corn) with water and bring to a boil.  Once the water starts to boil, add your corn.  I cooked mine for about 8 minutes.

Once your corn is cooked, remove immediately from the pot and place it on a plate to cool.  Once corn is cool enough, begin slicing off the cob.  You will need about 2 cups of kernels.  Set corn aside and pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a glass or ceramic casserole dish.

Pour your 2 cups of kernels into a bowl.  Mix together the sugar, corn, and flour until the kernels are evenly coated (this prevents the corn from floating on top once the liquid is added).

Set the dry mixture aside.  Beat 2 eggs in a separate bowl.  Add the melted butter to the eggs, beating well.

Gradually add milk to the mixture, continuing to mix well.

Add the egg mixture to the corn.  Mix together evenly, then pour mixture  into greased casserole dish.

Place in the oven  and bake for 45 minutes on 350 degrees until golden brown.  Let the dish cool slightly before serving (allow time for dish to “set”).  Enjoy!

Print Corn Puddin’ Recipe

2 responses

  1. That looks delicious!

    Also, did you guys notice that both of your “about me” photos have you both with your hands on your hips. If you didn’t plan that, it’s pretty funny.

    Finally, Megan, it looks like your sister has someone helping her take pictures: Why can’t Matt help? He’s so selfish.

    • Matt helps with the photos, especially if I’m trying to stir something with my right hand. He’s been an awesome photography teacher, as I am still learning how to figure out our fancy camera!

Leave a Reply

