Wine Cork Wreath, Wine Not?

One thing I think every home needs is a wreath.  There are lots of wreaths out there that you can buy, but why buy a wreath when you can make it yourself?!

Wine has been a part of my family, as my dad works for the Leducq Foundation that owns an amazing winery in Napa Valley called Ehlers Estate.  I had the opportunity to visit Ehlers Estate last October during the fall harvest and absolutely love their wine (not to mention their proceeds go to cardiac research)! So what to do with all of the corks?

Ehlers Estate tasting room dating back to 1886 in St. Helena, CA

My mom came up with a cool idea of making a wine cork wreath way before Pinterest and all of the DIY blogs.  I’ve made one for myself as well as shower or housewarming gifts for others.  I recently made one for my future sister-in-law who also has an affinity for wine.  It’s an easy project to sit down at night and do something creative and, well, have a glass of wine!

Here’s what you’ll need for the Wine Cork Wreath:

– A glue gun & glue sticks (I bought a cheap one at Michael’s for about $4.00)

– A straw wreath, the size is up to you

– A small piece of wire for the hanger

– Lots and Lots of corks!  I prefer real corks, not the fake ones.  You can always ask a bar, winery, or restaurant to save them for you if you don’t drink a lot of wine.

Directions:

To start I usually make a hanger.  I used floral wire for this and wrapped it around, tying it into a loop until I felt it was sturdy enough to hold the weight of the wreath when hung on the door (or wall).  Make sure it will not come undone!  You can also use twine, but I prefer something a bit more sturdy. It’s hard to tell, but I’ve made the wire loop around the clear string holding the straw wreath together.

Next, pick out which wine corks you want to use.  Make sure they are not falling apart and in good condition. If they are stained a bit from wine, that’s fine.  It adds character and color!

I like to lay out a few corks around the wreath to give me ideas of how I want them placed.  I like a somewhat planned disorganized look (if that makes sense at all!). Start hot-glueing the corks with a small amount of glue. Don’t worry about the small hair-like strings from the glue gun, we’ll take care of those later!

I try to cover the wreath as much as possible.  The reason I like to use a straw wreath underneath is because it’s about the same color as the corks and has a natural look, so if I have a small gap it’s not the end of the world.

To add visual interest I also cut some corks in half and place them in the wreath like the pictures below.  It also helps to do this if you have just a small gap to cover.  Getting the corks in the right place is somewhat like putting together a puzzle!

I try to start on one side of the wreath and do a little, then move to the opposite side and work inward.

I usually don’t add corks to the back, but put enough on the sides so it looks finished.

The last step (which is not pictured) is to get rid of all of the annoying little glue strings.  To do this simply plug in your hairdryer and blow-dry the wreath for about a minute.  That will melt the strings and you won’t notice they are there!

And there you have it!  A cute new wreath for your door or a friend’s! I change the look for the holidays by adding a bow or tucking in greenery for Christmas!

8 responses

  1. This is really cool, Megan! I made a wine cork board for my friend Elisa’s wedding gift, but I’m still collecting corks and have been trying to figure out what to do. Thanks for the fun craft project idea!

Leave a Reply

