It’s Fall Y’all!

It’s finally starting to feel like Fall with cooler days, changing leaves, and pumpkin spice everything!  Fall is by far my most favorite time of the year and I was so happy to see my favorite season is in full force at the NC State Farmer’s Market.  This time last year I had just moved to Raleigh from Northern Virginia and found myself in a pickle because all of my Fall decorations were in our storage unit.  I didn’t want to invest in Fall decorations I’d have to store somewhere and got an idea… why not use natural materials to decorate?  My grandmother DaGa, mom, and aunts always used natural materials to decorate for the holidays, whether it was using magnolia leaves for wreaths or winter berries in a vase.

The farmer’s market had so many different types of pumpkins and gourds!  I found myself amazed at how the colors and textures varied. So now for the hard part… which to choose for my decorations…

Pumpkins don’t just come in orange anymore!

Gourds, gourds everywhere (and only 2 for $1)!

Can it be? Gourds that look like watermelon?

Even gourds that look like a goose?

Bumpy pickle gourds…

Apple gourds?!?!

White “Lumina Pumpkins”…

Gray pumpkins?

Pumpkins with warts…

Pastel pumpkins…

And finally giant pumpkins!

It took a while, but I finally picked out what I wanted, partially because I had so much fun taking pictures (sorry if I went overboard!).  Here are some ways I used natural materials to decorate for Fall.  The best part is that they will last through Thanksgiving and you don’t have to worry about storing them anywhere!

Stacked pumpkins: I got these pumpkins that are flatter at the farmer’s market and stacked them in a pot by our front door.  Just cut off the stems and stack them on top of each other.

Airlie is proud of her pumpkin topiary!

Decorating with gourds: I also got some funky looking gourds and put them in a woven basket on my coffee table… very easy and festive as well! I didn’t have to spend a dime on a container I already had.

Using apples: I bought some Fuji apples from the farmer’s market as well and piled them in a trifle bowl.  Now I have easy access to the apples and it looks cute on my table!

If you’re looking to spruce up your yard, now is the time to plant…

Pansies…

And mums!  These plants can stand up to very cool weather and add a pop of color!  Gardener’s tip from my mom – snap off the “dead heads” (dead flowers) at the top of the stem to help your mums continue to bloom.

Happy Fall Decorating!

3 responses

  1. I totally agree with Rachel. Great natural decorations! We did the same exact thing– bought a couple of pumpkins, put them outside. It was also the theme for Rachel’s baby shower and it made for some great (and cheap) decorations there as well!

Leave a Reply

