Ginnie’s Fresh Apple Cake

I hope this post finds all of you safe from the heavy rains and wind of tropical storm Sandy!

I’ve just returned from a much needed break and Honeymoon in sunny Barbados. If you haven’t been there, I highly suggest you go. The beaches are gorgeous, the people are super friendly, and the local food is amazing!

Although it was a little depressing leaving the beach and coming back to cooler weather, I was excited to be back for one of my favorite seasons…..FALL! I love this time of year, as the weather cools down and the trees begin to change color. I buy everything pumpkin flavored, and — Ah yes, the sweet smell of Ginnie’s Apple Cake in my kitchen. As we’ve mentioned before, Ginnie was an amaaaazing baker and this is one of our family’s most prized recipes. While I thought I might face most certain death for sharing this recipe from my family, it was my mom’s idea! It’s definitely our “go to” recipe once it’s apple season.

While this recipe was developed long before the times of “skinny recipes,” when big hips were hot, I will include the Original Recipe, oil and all (I’m surprised it doesn’t call for Crisco like all of Ginnie’s other recipes) for y’all out there who just don’t care! I will be showing how to make a lighter version below!

What you’ll need for Ginne’s Fresh Apple Cake:

Print Skinny Recipe Here

 

1 greased bundt cake pan

1 cup chopped walnuts (or pecans if you prefer)

6 apples (or 3 cups diced depending on apple size)

Dry Ingredients:

3 cups flour

2 tsp baking soda

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

Wet Ingredients:

2 cups sugar

3 eggs (you can also use egg beaters or egg whites)

1 cup oil (Megan likes to use apple sauce instead, I use plain or vanilla greek yogurt to add extra protein)

2 tsp vanilla

The type of apple you use is up to you. I use Honey Crisp. My mom likes to use Golden Delicious. Whatever you choose, make sure it is a baking apple.

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees.

Start with peeling and dicing your apples until you have about 3 cups. I only used five apples because mine were fairly large.

**Note: It makes clean-up much easier if you have a vacuum nearby to pick up any stray apple pieces

Once you are finished dicing your apples, mix all of your dry ingredients (flour, soda, cinnamon, salt) in a large mixing bowl.

In a separate bowl, beat eggs, then add sugar, oil (or applesauce/greek yogurt), and vanilla.

Mix fruit and nuts with dry ingredients. Mix until apple slices are completely covered in flour mixture.

Add egg mixture to the apples and dry ingredients. Mix by hand.

Pour batter into bundt or tube pan (greased).

Bake at 325 degrees for 1.5 hours. Once you remove from the oven, let the cake cool in the pan.

After it has completely cooled, flip the pan over and place the cake on a plate or cake stand. We hope y’all enjoy this recipe as much as we do…Enjoy!

5 responses

  1. Since school is cancelled because of Sandy, I might just have to go out and get apples to make this…. and I’ll be using applesauce 🙂 and the skinny version!

Leave a Reply

