Pecan Pie… Oh My!

There’s nothing more southern on Thanksgiving than pecan pie in my opinion and let me tell you, my grandmother GG made the BEST EVER!  We were very lucky to have most of our family living in Culpeper so we got to have two Thanksgivings in one day.  I remember waking up to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade with Ryanne while my mom started cooking whatever she was bringing for Thanksgiving.  We’d usually start off at one grandparent’s house, eat Thanksgiving lunch, then sit around until we came out of our first food coma and then move on to the next grandparent’s house for Thanksgiving dinner.

No matter how much I had eaten, I always managed to reserve a square inch in my stomach for GG’s pecan pie… yes it was that good.  So when I signed up for my office Thanksgiving potluck I figured why not bring GG’s pecan pie?  It’s quick, easy, delicious, and a definite crowd pleaser.  For those out there that are afraid to cook or bake, this is the recipe for you.  You’ll look like a baking rock star for your friends and family!

GG’s Perfect Pecan Pie:

Print Recipe Here!

3 eggs

3/4 Cup corn syrup

1/8 tsp. salt

2/3 Cups pecans chopped

1 tsp. vanilla

1 cup sugar

1 pie crust

First pre-heat the oven to 375 F. Slightly beat the 3 eggs in a bowl.

Add in the cup of sugar and salt.

And the 2/3 cups chopped pecans.

Add the 3/4 cup corn syrup and tsp. of vanilla.

Stir everything together until it looks like so…

Pour  mixture into an UNBAKED pie crust.  If I had more time I would have made my own, but for the sake of time I used a store-bought crust.

Bake in the oven for 10 minutes at 375 F. Then reduce heat to 350 F and bake until a knife comes out clean, about 40 more minutes (just keep an eye on it!).

I hope you enjoy this Southern favorite as much as my family does!

What’s your favorite Thanksgiving dessert?

2 responses

Leave a Reply

