Dill Dippin’

Good morning, friends!   I hope each of you had a fun Thanksgiving filled with good food and family!  I spent my first Thanksgiving with my husband’s family.  LJ’s uncle Tim cooked up a turkey on the grill.  Everyone brought sides and desserts to share.  Boy, were we stuffed by the end of the day!  It’s always fun to see what traditions other families do on the holidays.  We had a great time and I look forward to spending many more holiday’s with them.

Yesterday morning, LJ and I packed up our car at 5 am (with Molly, our golden retriever in tow) and headed down to Blacksburg for the annual Commonwealth Cup.  My parents have season tickets to Virginia Tech games and this was the first time we were able to make it down for a game this season (we’ve been a little busy with the wedding).  It was one of the coldest games I’ve been to.  It actually started to flurry while we were tailgating.  I was pretty nervous about the game since we’ve had a pretty disappointing season.  Even with our worst season in over 20 years, we pulled off a win against the Wahoos!  It always feels good to beat UVA 🙂

LJ and I freezing in the stands waiting for the game to start.

Now, for those of you who went to a big football school, you know the best part of the game is the tailgating.  Since it was a 12 o’clock game, we decided to have appetizers before the game and the big meal after the game (we had Smithfield’s BBQ yesterday…..best southern BBQ!!).  Even though it was freezing, my dad and I still had our Bloody Mary (Floyd tradition before Tech games).  For the tailgate I decided to make dill dip with fresh veggies.  As you can see from Megan’s thanksgiving post….dill dip is a common appetizer around the holidays in our family.  It’s one of our maternal grandmother’s (Daga’s) recipe.  It’s perfect to make for tailgating!

Print Dill Dip Recipe

What you’ll need for dill dip:

1 cup mayo

1 cup sour cream (or plain greek yogurt…if you want to cut down the fat)

2 Tablespoons dehydrated parsley

3 Tablespoons dried minced onion

4 Teaspoons dill weed

4 teaspoons Beau Monde

I chose to use the light version of mayo and sour cream.  I am positive that Daga went with the regular versions, but its up to you!  Now I would also like to point out the type of mayo I used:  Duke’s Mayonnaise.

This, my friends, is definitely a family favorite.   If you are looking for a good southern mayo….search no farther.  I can remember Megan and I going to visit our great-grandmother Ginnie in Burkeville, Virginia.  She would always have a jar of Duke’s mayo in her refrigerator.  It was perfect on a tomato sandwich with fresh tomatoes from the garden.

Now back to the dill dip…..First add your mayo and sour cream to a small bowl.  Mix together well.

Next add all of the remaining ingredients (parsley, minced onion, dill weed, and beau monde).  Mix together well.

Chill until ready to serve.   Place dip in a bowl and serve with fresh cut veggies.  Enjoy!

LJ, Molly, and I are off to pick out our Christmas tree.  Happy Sunday!

One response

Leave a Reply

