Something Old, Something New Part III!

Hello friends!  Yesterday I woke up to an exciting early morning delivery from Mr. John Owens.  He reupholstered some wingback chairs for me that were in dire need of a makeover and did an AMAZING job; I highly recommend him if you’re in the Raleigh/Clinton, NC area.  I was trying to find a “before” picture of the chairs but couldn’t find one.  Just imagine the ugliest pea-green color in a velvety fabric and that’s what they looked like.  One was from my mother and the other I inherited from my grandmother (they were a pair).  And here’s what they now look like, just in time for hosting The Bachelor viewing party with my girlfriends on Monday!

IMG_9298

Aren’t they beautiful!? I love that old furniture can be revitalized.  You can buy wingbacks from Pottery Barn or Ethan Allen, but they are often super expensive and let’s face it… they just don’t make furniture the same anymore.  I got the fabric, which is really heavy duty, from Printer’s Alley in Raleigh.  I highly recommend them as they have  super cute fabrics in a variety of price ranges.  As Mr. Owens was taking away our wingbacks to get their makeover I noticed they were made in Hickory, NC.  He kept commenting on what good chairs they were.  So I’m glad we’ve been able to give these comfy chairs a snazzy new life and helped the environment by not taking them to the dump… bonus points!

IMG_9297

A close up of the fabric.

IMG_9300

The fabric coordinates with some pillows I made for our couch a few years ago, but isn’t too matchy-matchy.

IMG_9302

And it also coordinates with our dining room chairs that I reupholstered with an ikat print also from Printer’s Alley.  For more information on how to do this check out Ryanne’s post.

IMG_9303

And the finishing touch, a new orchid.  Now I’m excited to eventually empty out our storage unit and revitalize other furniture I inherited from my grandmother!

4 responses

  1. OMG the chairs are beautiful! It seems you inherited your Mom’s gene for recycling/repurpose. I took an upholstery class years ago and learned the value of well made older furniture. I bet your G’ma would be smiling…

    • I was actually with my mom to pick out the fabric… She was going to use it on her chairs but decided not to. I’m glad she didn’t because I really like the fabric!

Leave a Reply

