Wedding Recap: The Rehearsal Dinner

Good afternoon everyone!

Many of you know that my husband (LJ) and I got married on October 13, 2012 in Wrightsville Beach, NC.  SO it may have been three months (and a day) since I got married, but now that the holidays are over and we have a disc of all of our professional photos, Megan and I thought it would be fun to share a recap of different parts of the wedding with y’all.   Better late than never…….right?

I wanted to first give a shout-out to our photographer Erin Whittle.  She is an awesome person with an amazing talent.  She did an OUTSTANDING job capturing the beauty, love, details and laughter of our big day.  My mom always says that the best photographer is one you don’t notice during the ceremony and reception.  She is so right.  I’ve been to weddings where it seems like the photographer is practically elbowing the bridesmaids out of the way to get pictures of the bride and groom during the ceremony.  I don’t remember once seeing Erin during the ceremony or reception (other than obvious times).  Now, my not noticing her maybe had something to do with the fact that I was about to make the biggest commitment of my life (!!!), BUT, my point is if you are in the Wilmington area and are in need of a photographer–I HIGHLY recommend her.  We couldn’t be happier with our pictures (and with my decision to marry LJ).

The obvious place to start would be with the rehearsal.  Our rehearsal took place at my parents gorgeous back yard.    Once we finished rehearsing we headed downtown to the City Club at de Rosset  where the rehearsal dinner was held.  It is a simply southern mansion that was built in 1841 by a prominent family in Wilmington, NC.  It now serves as a social club that hosts many weddings, private parties, and rehearsal dinners every year.  They have rooms on the second floor that are rented out to members (that is where we stayed our wedding night).

The City Club

My mother-in-law Robin, did a wonderful job with the table numbers!  Aren’t they cute?

Table Numbers

She also painted wine glasses for the bride and groom.

wine glasses

My husband LJ and I in the gorgeous gardens in front of The City Club.

Ryanne and LJ

LJ and I with my parents Jane and Jim Floyd

Family

Megan (matron of honor) and her husband Matt

Megan and MattLJ and I with his sisters (my new sisters) Paige and Leigh

The UlrichsLJ and I with LJ’s father Joe and step-mother Shari Ulrich

Joe and Shari

LJ and I with LJ’s mom Robin Hasz

Robin

LJ with his grandparents Dick and Faye Hasz

grandparents

After cocktail hour we sat down to enjoy a delicious dinner.  We started with a simple wedge salad.  LJ and I decided on shrimp n’ grits as our entree.  I wanted to make sure all of our northern guests got a taste of the south.  The City Club definitely did not disappoint!   We got tons of compliments on how good the food was!
Dinner

After passing out gifts, the father of the groom toast, and many laughs later, we headed off to one of our favorite bars in Wilmington– Level Five.  Level Five is a rooftop bar in downtown Wilmington.  We went there the night before Megan and Matt’s wedding, so we continued the tradition for mine.  We had to get a family picture with the newest addition (LJ).

Level 5

LJ and I are so blessed to be a part of two wonderful families.  We had such a great time celebrating with friends and family the night before we got hitched.  Stay tuned for the ceremony and reception wedding recaps!

Happy Monday!

5 responses

    • This is from another Donna, your aunt in California !
      Thanks for sharing all these great photos, Ryanne 🙂
      Love all your & Megan’s blogs, too.

      • Thank you Donna. Great to hear from you! I’m glad you are able to enjoy the pictures. I will be posting some from the ceremony and reception in the next couple of days. I hope things are well over on the west coast 🙂

Leave a Reply

