Wedding Recap: The Ceremony

…Finally the wedding ceremony pictures!  If you missed the rehearsal dinner  recap be sure to check it out!  Sorry for such a long post….but out of over 400 pictures…it was hard to post only a handful to share with y’all!

Growing up my parents always took Megan and I to the beach every summer.  My mom would have to drag us out of the water to get us to eat a quick sandwich and slap on some more suntan lotion before we were back in the water diving through the waves.  LJ and I both grew up spending many summers down in Emerald Isle, NC.  Since LJ and I both share an appreciation for the beach (and my parents conveniently live 15 minutes away from it), we  couldn’t think of a better place to get married!

The weather is generally gorgeous in Wilmington during October…BUT…with it it being an outdoor ceremony and still technically hurricane season I did a lot of stressing the weeks up to the wedding.  By stressing I mean I may or may not have obsessively checked the 10-day forecast an embarrassing amount.  Fortunately, we could not have asked for a better day to get married on the beach in front of the Hanover Seaside Club.  It was sunny, 70’s, with a cool beach breeze.

The day started pretty early for the girls.  We had to start getting hair and make-up done at 10 am for a 5 pm wedding!  The girls of Hypnotix Spalon traveled to my parents house to do our hair and make-up so we could relax and not worry about rushing around.  I was still a nervous wreck, but it was nice to enjoy a mimosa and spend time relaxing with my bridesmaids.

Now I will do less writing and let you enjoy the pictures…… The dress dress detail make-up

Me with one of my best friends from Tech (Julia)

Julia and I

The best part about a beach ceremony….I got to wear flip flops!

flip flops Our flowers were done by June Sweeny.  She did an OUTSTANDING job.  My mom, sister, and I only met with her once.  I told her what colors I wanted and that I wanted more of a natural look with succulents, orchids, roses, and a lot of texture.  Her creation for the bouquets and centerpieces at the reception were beyond my expectations.  I definitely recommend her! flowers My mom made the vases seen below for all of the bridesmaids.  They placed their bouquets in them and then at the reception they served as the flowers at the head table.  They also made for a cute and unique gift for the bridesmaids!vase holders dress SO thankful for Megan.  It took awhile to do all of those buttons! buttons

Julia, Mallory, Ryanne, Megan, Amanda, Missy

Bridesmaids

Sister’s pictureMeg and I Ryanne Ryanne2

The Floyd Family: Megan, Jim, Ryanne, and Jane

Family

We made a sign from an old wooden picket fence.  I did a single layer of white paint and tried to make it look distressed.  My mom painted the coral and wrote our names.Sign1 Sign2 I made the starfish aisle markers.  I took a dow rod, hot glued the starfish to one end and tied a green ribbon at the top.  We stuck them in the sand to make an “aisle” for the wedding party to walk down. starfish aisle

Chris, Isaac, Dakota, Adam and LJ
101

I decided to make starfish pins instead of using the traditional flower boutineer.  I thought it tied in with our beach theme.106 handsome groom Megan Dad and I Dad, me, mom 178181

Laughing because LJ’s ring was a little hard to slip over his knuckle….I was worried it wasn’t going to fit!189197207 214

Woohoo! We’re married!  I hope you enjoyed the pictures.  Check back for the after ceremony pictures and the reception!

3 responses

  1. Your wedding pics are wonderful. We enjoyed them so much. I loved the flowers and your beautiful dress. Your Mom and Dad looked great too. Our son Charlie and wife Jennifer had a Beach wedding in Tulum Mexico in 2005. It was a beautiful evening and was at sunset. J. Tyson

Leave a Reply

