Baby it’s Cold outside!

Brrrr! I don’t know about where you are but down here in Raleigh, NC it’s been freeezing!  I went on a long run this morning as I’m training for the Wrightsville Beach Half-Marathon and it was a chilly 9 miles!  One of my favorite winter dishes to eat ever since I was little is Brunswick Stew.  DaGa and my mom used to make it all the time in the winter and it’s a healthy dish sure to warm you up!  One great thing about it is it freezes well too, so you can make a double batch, let it cool, and fill up Ziploc freezer bags and freeze.

I was looking up the history of Brunswick Stew as it’s an essential Southern winter staple and apparently there’s a fight over where it originated… Brunswick, GA or Brunswick County, VA.  Since I’m a Virginia girl I’ll say Brunswick Stew was invented in Virginia of course! Some of the main ingredients for most recipes are lima beans, tomatoes, corn, meat, and other vegetables. I wanted to try it with okra, but my Northerner husband threw a hissy fit.  I will next time 😉

Southern Brunswick Stew:

Print Recipe

Ingredients:IMG_9381

  • 2 cups frozen or fresh sweet corn
  • 2 cups frozen or fresh lima beans
  • 2 lbs. chicken breast or tenders
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes ( I use organic/no salt added so I can control the amount of salt!)
  • approximately 1 lb. potatoes
  • 2 onions
  • approximately 10 cups of water
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

IMG_9385

First dice up your onions.

IMG_9383

Heat about a tablespoon of olive oil in a LARGE pot on medium heat.

IMG_9386

Add the onions and saute for about 3 minutes.

IMG_9388

Add in the 10 cups of water.  Bring to a boil.

IMG_9394

Add in the chicken breasts or tenders.  Boil until they are cooked all the way (mine look pink here, but they weren’t… I think it was the lighting)This will make your chicken stock. Remove the chicken and let cool slightly.

IMG_9396

In the meantime dice the potatoes and add to the chicken stock and boil.

IMG_9401

Shred the chicken with two forks or by hand and add back into the pot.

IMG_9404

Add in the lima beans and tomatoes.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_9405

Finally add in the corn and let cook for about 20-30 minutes on low heat.

IMG_9424

For best results save and eat the next day so the flavors can all marinate together, but if you’re like me it’s so good it’s too hard to wait!  Here are two essentials that I must have with my Brunswick Stew.

IMG_9420

And…

 IMG_9421

Corn muffins!

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

