Black beans…..in my brownies?

Good afternoon friends!

Molly and I had a girls night last night.  LJ was away for work, so our night consisted of painting nails, watching, TV, and chewing on bones (more Molly than me).   After dinner I started craving something sweet.  While LJ craves salty things such as chips…..my weakness is sweets.  I blame this on my mom, grandmothers and great grand-mother always making delicious baked goods!

My craving came just in time…..because I happened to have all the ingredients for black bean brownies AND I hadn’t done a blog post in awhile (Sorry).  This recipe came from another food blog and was introduced to me by one of my friends.  When I first made them I was curious as to whether they would taste good or not and if they’d end up with a weird texture…..but they really are DELICIOUS!  Even LJ liked them!  This is the perfect way to sneak in some fiber, protein, and make your brownies low-fat!  I actually made them at our super bowl party last year.  I didn’t tell our guests what was in them until the end of the night.  They were definitely a hit!

What you’ll need:

Print Recipe Here

Blender

15.5 oz can black beans ( your normal can)

3 large eggs

3 tablespoons canola oil

1/4 cup cocoa powder

2/3 cup white sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/4 cup milk chocolate (or dark chocolate) chips.  These are not pictured because I didn’t have any.  But they are delicious in the brownies….so I recommend adding them!

052

First pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.  Spray square brownie pan with non-stick spray and set aside.  Make sure you rinse the black beans VERY well.

055

Combine everything in blender except the chocolate chips.

056

Blend together until smooth.  You may need to use a spatula to scrape the sides.

059

Pour batter into pan, sprinkle chocolate chips on top and bake for 30-32 minutes, or until knife comes out clean.

061063

Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

